Information and Blog on electronic performance materials

Jonathan Harvey sound sources

Jonathan Harvey's Electronic Works

1. Fixed Media Works (in two or more channels) – works where the electronic part is pre-recorded

and played back either on its own or alongside live acoustic performance.

Contact the Hire Library direct to order these materials.


  • At a Cloud Gathering (2005) for percussion and electronics

  • Hidden Voice 2 (1999) for 12 instrumentalists and CD

  • Homage to Cage, … Chopin (und Ligeti ist auch dabei) (1998) for prepared piano and CD

  • Inner Light 2 (1977) for SSATB soli, instrumental ensemble and ADAT

  • Mythic Figures (2001) for electronics only

  • Nachtlied (1984) for soprano, piano and pre-recorded CD

  • Smiling Immortal (1977) for 11 instrumentalists and CD

  • Toccata (1980) for organ and pre-recorded tape

  • Tombeau de Messiaen (1994) for piano and CD



2. Works using original technology/hardware

May require updating if the original technology/hardware is no longer available


  • Ashes Dance Back (1997) for choir and electronics

  • Bird Concerto with Pianosong (2001) for solo piano, chamber orchestra and live electronics

  • Calling across time (1998) for chamber orchestra with electronics

  • Cello Concerto (1990) for cello and orchestra including electronic keyboard

  • From Silence (1988) for soprano, 6 instrumentalists and live electronics

  • Gong-Ring (1984) for 20 instrumentalists and electronics

  • Imaginings for cello and live electronics

  • Inquest of Love (1992) An opera, for soloists, chorus, orchestra and live electronics

  • Madonna of Winter and Spring (1986) for orchestra, synthesizers and live electronics

  • Mothers Shall Not Cry (2000) for soprano and tenor soloists, female semi-chorus, female chorus, orchestra and live      electronics

  • One Evening... (1994) for soprano, mezzo soprano, chamber ensemble of 8 instrumentalists and live electronics

  • Other Presences (2006) for trumpet and electronics

  • Percussion Concerto (1997) for solo percussion and orchestra with optional reverberation and amplification

  • Ricercare una melodia (1984-2003) for flute or oboe or clarinet or saxophone or trumpet or trombone or viola or cello and electronics

  • Soleil Noir/Chitra (1995)  for 9 instrumentalists and electronics

  • Still (1997) for tuba and electronics

  • The Summer Cloud's Awakening (2001) for SATB choir, flute, cello and electronics

  • Two Interludes for an Opera (2003) for soprano & tenor soloists and 22 instrumentalists with live electronics

  • Valley of Aosta (1988) for 13 instrumentalists and electronics

  • Wheel of Emptiness (1997) for 16 instrumentalists including electronic keyboards

  • White as Jasmine (1999) for soprano and large orchestra including electronic keyboards



3. IRCAM originated works

Contact the Hire Library direct to order these materials and for onward referral to IRCAM


  • Advaya (1994) for cello, electronic keyboard and electronics

  • Bhakti (1982) for 15 instrumentalists and electronics

  • Mortuos Plango, Vivos Voco (1980) for live electronics

  • Ritual Melodies (1990) for live electronics

  • Speakings (2008) for orchestra with live electronics

  • String Quartet No.4 (2003) with live electronics

  • Wagner Dream (2006) an opera, for soloists, actors, chorus and 22 instrumentalists with live electronics